A day of thanks

30 Nov

Thursday morning was tough. It was the first day I really felt homesick. Yes, I know, home is where the heart is. But my heart was stuck somewhere between Miami and Key West. It was the first Thanksgiving that I hadn’t spent with my parents in Miami. We were missing the cooking, the laughter, the ordeal of setting the table and choosing the right wine. The turkey, the homemade cranberry sauce and my favorite dessert: my dad’s pumpkin pie.

The day before we had received emails from two friends in Key West with updates on everyone’s happenings. I was so happy to hear what’s been going on but at the same time it made me miss Key West and our life there. Since we’ve left, a few friends have bought homes, 3 engagements and 2 weddings have been celebrated, and 5 babies have been born with a few more on the way. I am beyond thrilled to hear about all these joyful occasions but sad I can’t be there in person celebrating. And I feel like an email, text or Facebook message doesn’t adequately relay my excitement but unfortunately it will have to do for the next few months. And while we are celebrating in spirit, we can’t wait to celebrate in person at some point in time.

Our Thanksgiving day was very untraditional but a lot of fun. We spent the day in San Roque parked at a new friend’s house with Toby and Chloe of Carpe Viam.

20131129-223702.jpg

We explored the coast on the motorcycle, walked the beach and collected firewood for our evening cookout. We feasted on gifted lobsters and fish, veggies and baked potatoes, our favorite wine, and even managed to bake a pumpkin-bread-oat thing accurately named the “thanksgiving miracle”.

20131130-092815.jpg

In all, it was a fabulous day with wonderful new friends. We truly have a lot to be thankful for today and always.

20131130-095001.jpg

20131130-095029.jpg

2 Responses to “A day of thanks”

  1. Jana December 1, 2013 at 4:48 am #

    I’ve never had a Puhn-kin pie hay even comes close. I get it.

    I’m thankful you were able to come meet my newest little one and see the big boys. Without your adventures, it wouldn’t have happened. I think it will help the homesickness if you plan to stop by again on your way back. 😉

    We love and miss you. We are so glad we got to spend special time with you both (and see your parents!) on your journey! We wish you safe travels and can’t wait to see you soon!!!

    Xoxo

    ~The Goodys

  2. Rose and Tegan December 4, 2013 at 11:28 am #

    We miss you two especially this time of year. Just remember that many of us would love to be in your shoes-such an adventure!

Leave a Reply

