Messages in an envelope

16 May

For our going away party, our great friends Loriellen and Dustin (and their spouses, Kevin and Allison) hosted a fabulous party at their law office. As our gift, Lori had everyone in attendance fill out a “ballot” listing where they thought I would bail, along with a farewell message. She sealed up the envelope with everyone’s notes with the instruction to read it all once we got on the road.

Tonight, on Toledo Bend Lake, the lake that separates Louisiana and Texas, we broke open the envelope while listing to Howard Livingston. Not going to lie, the notes brought a tear to my eye, mostly because all your jerks thought I was going to get out before we even left the state of Florida! Out of 79 ballots, 23 of you said I wouldn’t make it out of Florida, with 3 of you writing that I would barely make it out of Key West (thanks Susan, Karole and MOM!)!!! 9 of you thought I would make it to New Orleans. I do love my Jazz Fest and good fatty bacony cooking but PUH-LEASE people! The majority of you wrote I would bail anywhere from Texas (Rhonda, I guess I’ll be moving in with your parents?) to Wyoming (Kuypers, you won’t be saying good riddance come May 31!) to Alaska to somewhere in Cali (Mamasabi, I’ll definitely be taking a prolonged stop in wine country) to Mexico. Toula, I can’t even repeat yours! Betsy, spa date in Arizona? And Tam tam, Aaron and Tiffany both thought I’d leave Hani for you in Kentucky!

To the 14 of you that are still my friends (Lori, Nancy, Justin, Kasey, Jerry, Eddie, Janet, Ashley, Maggie, Tom, Christina, Scott, Cat, and Drew) that said I’d make it all the way, AND THEN to Austin, I love you and can’t wait to see you all! You guys are more than welcome to come visit us on the road or in Austin anytime!

Lori, thank you so much for the best gift! I knew you were rooting for me! xo

3 Responses to “Messages in an envelope”

  1. sweet jane May 16, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    You tell um

  2. Nancy May 16, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Woohoo, thanks for the shout out!

    Any plans of going to the northeast part of the country?

    • Sarah May 16, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

      Yeah Nancy!! Skipping the northeast. We’ve both been there a lot so checking out the west.

Leave a Reply

